Tuesday, August 9, 2011
Would you be angry at your teen in this situation, or accept that it was a mistake due to inexperience?
I've spent most of winter break with my family in the UK, and I think it's legal to drink at the age of 17 in pubs here if you order the alcohol with food. (I'm 17) My mom gave me permission to meet up with some of my friends and my cousin, and our plan was to just go to dinner, then to a popular, youthful pub where there's live music and kickback and meet up with more friends, and then go bowling. I gave her the complete run-down of the plans before I left. It was supposed to have been a fairly mellow night, and I most definitely did not intend to get drunk. My friends were late, so we skipped going to dinner and just decided to grab pub grub, but everything was greasy and / or had meat in it, and so I didn't eat much. I had a sip of my friend's drink which had this blackcurrant syrup poured in, and tasted yummy and like it was low in alcohol, so when he was buying a round, I ordered a pint, not realizing that it's actually a very potent drink. I honestly couldn't taste the alcohol at all, just the blackcurrant which I love, and thought it was a smart choice that would fill me up a little, but wouldn't get me drunk. I was wrong. I got drunk very fast, and was confused and embarred, and I found out that the drink is called a snakebite because it like sneaks up on you and bites you. I didn't do anything stupid, and once I realized I was drunk I asked my friends to take me home. I threw up in public, looked like a stupid lush loser for getting drunk at freaking 8 at night, and just feel humiliated. I was in pain and hungover the whole next day. My mom was upset, but didn't come down hard on me because she knew it was a mistake. For some inexplicable reason, though, she felt compelled to tell my dad about this, and now there's all this drama, even though the pub thing happened days ago. They're divorced, but have always gotten along extremely well, and now he's upset with her because he thinks she was being too permissive and shouldn't have let me go out in a "strange city" (um, no, it's not a strange city, I've spent a ton of time here) when I have a health condition (that is not that big of a deal most of the time!). He's mad at me because he thinks I was being irresponsible, and that I deliberately tried to get drunk just to rebel or experiment or some other nonsense, and that I'm this naive girl who doesn't understand my health situation (I am the one who has it, not him, so yes I do) or how guys operate. My friends are older guys because I met them while taking a summer cl at a university here a few summers ago, and they've always been awesome to me, but still my dad is making it out like they could have taken advantage of me and intended to get me drunk (which if that was the case, why would they have carried me home?), and that my mom shouldn't have let me hang with them, and it's making me FURIOUS that he's essentially accusing them of being horrible people when he's never even met them and they've been nothing but genuine to me. I cannot stand not being in control of my mind, and was scared and really uncomfortable with being drunk, and my friends were really caring and didn't do anything at all to take advantage of me. I'm angry that he's angry at me when he's not even the parent in charge here, and everything was just an accident. I'm angry that he thinks my mom is being too lenient with me, and that I need a punishment when I've already been publicly humiliated by getting drunk totally on accident, scared because I felt really ill, and hungover for a whole day, and have gotten the freaking lesson on my own. I will never, ever for the whole rest of my life have that drink! Sorry. I'm really upset and venting. Would you make such a freaking mountain out of this molehill?
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment